O’Brien Marches To Fourth Win Of 2017 As Three Local Legends Enter Hall Of Fame

By Jim Bourdon

It was a special night at the Brockville Ontario Speedway as greats entered into the Napa Auto Parts Hall Of Fame. 1986 Mr. Dirt Champion, Doug “The Ox” Carlyle was posthumously, inducted with his family on hand to accept the award. Henry Boer of 1000 Islands RV was recognized for his ongoing efforts to promote and improve the speedway over the years. Lastly, George Herbison’s ongoing involvement in the sport and at the speedway earned him his place in the Hall Of Fame.

The 358 Modified feature was a family affair as Madison and John Mulder would lead the field to green. Madison would lead the first two laps, until the Aaron Pugh machine experienced mechanical difficulties, slowing to bring out the first caution. The junior Mulder would restart in the lead, but as the he led the field off turn 2, sparks could be seen from the car and Mulders evening would come to a premature end. This handed the lead to his father, John, for the ensuing restart The caution would fly one lap later as Bobby Herrington’s ride and Tim O’Brien’s car had isssues at the end of turns three and four. Herrington would continue, but O’Brien’s right axle was sheared off and he was unable to continue. Cautions on lap 8, for the Joe Banks car and on lap 9 for Kyle Dingwall would slow the pace twice more. Mulder continued to lead fighting off challenges from Brian Rogers and looking to pull away for his first victory of 2017. Meanwhile Danny O’Brien was working his way from the 9th starting position and would challenge Rogers for the runner-up spot. Lapped traffic proved to be the difference, as O’Brien was able to get around Rogers and set his sights on chasing down the Mulder ride. O’Brien would eventually prevail on the high side, taking the lead away from Mulder on lap 26. A caution two laps later for Steve Bilow, as Bobby Herrington and Chris Herbison battled for 6th position, gave Mulder a last chance to sneak past O’Brien on the restart. But after heartbreak a night earlier at Mohawk, O’Brien was able to hold on for win number four at the BOS this season. Mulder, Brian Rogers, Luke Whitteker and Stepahne Lafrance would round out the top five.

In the Sportsman feature, a scary moment on the initial start, saw Chris Ferguson slam nearly head-on into the concrete pit wall as his car broke going into turn one. After a brief red flag, Chris climbed from the car, unharmed. But his night was over. With a complete restart, Jarret Herbison was able to lead the field from the drop of the green. Jamie Young would bring the caution out on lap 2 as his machine got out of shape in turn 3. Two laps after the restart, Jonathon Ferguson, worked his way around Herbison for the lead, bringing Jason Shipclark along with him. The two would fight hard for the lead as Shipclark would make a bid for the lead around the halfway mark. It wasn’t enough as Ferguson was not to be denied on this night and would lead the rest of the way pursued closely by Shipclark and would take the checkers ahead of him, Dylan Evoy, Tristan Draper and Ryan Scott.

The Rookie Sportsman feature was a caution filled even, seeing Dave McDonald lead from the start. Initially holding off challenges from a determined Alex Gagnon. But Gagnon would spin, challenging for the lead at lap 8 and and again a lap later. McDonald would fight off challenges from Dale Gifford and newcomer Eric MacPherson to capture his second win of the year and become the second repeat winner of 2017 ahead of MacPherson, Gifford, Gagnon and Geneva Sheffield.

In the Outlaw Vintage division, heat race issues would force Brian Comeau to start from the rear of the feature in the Wayne Mackey ride, to help maintain his points. Luke McKinnon would lead lap 1 but Wayne Riddell, would take over on lap two and pace the field through four cautions. On a lap 9 restart, Wayne Riddell would go off the speedway in turn 4, while battling Corey Winters for the lead. Winters would lead as the white flag waved. Nathan Berry would drive his way around the Winters ride through turns 1 and 2 to lead by a nose as the pair headed down the backstretch. Winter would slide into Berry and climb onto his car as the pair would spin to the infield entering turn 3, handing the lead to the unlikely Brian Comeau in a borrowed car, to cross the checkers head of Pete Stapper, Jake McNamee, Gavin Riddell and Wayne Riddell.

Sheldon Hoogwerf lead the Street Stock feature from his starting spot on the front row, that would see three wide battling early on for the top spot. Nick Gauvreau would challenge early and often, trying to find a way around the strong running Hoogwerf. As Gauvreau pulled alongside to challenge for the lead on lap 11, the caution would come out for Michael Dillon. A lap later Gauvreau would go off the speedway in turn 3 as he was trying to regain second while Todd Raabe was looking to take the lead from Hoogwerf. Raabe would eventually get around Hoogwerf as the race resumed and would take the win over Hoogwerf, Tyler Bushey, John Calgey and Michael Dillon.

In the Mini-Stock  feature, Mark Packer would Pace the field for the first lap, but Chris Bakker, would overtake him on lap 2. Dylan Kirkland would quickly make his way to the number two spot and literally push the Bakker ride around the track before taking the lead on lap 6. A lap 8 spin would slow the race only once, as Kirkland would continue unopposed while the race for third was a fierce one between Dustin Bode and Kurtis Daye. Kirkland captured his second win in three weeks, as Bakker, Bode, Daye and Brady greer would round out the top five.

Complete Results

358 Modified

Danny O’Brien, John Mulder, Brian Rogers, Luke Whitteker, Stepahne Lafrance, Bobby Herrington, Chris Herbison, Jeremy Lasalle, Kyle Dingwall, Joe Banks, Ryan Poole, Andy Lloyd, Steve Bilow, Tim O’Brien, Madison Mulder, Aaron Pugh.


Jonathon Ferguson, Jason Shipclark, Dylan Evoy, Tristan Draper, Ryan Scott, Steve Barber, Jarret Herbison, Shane Pecore, Shane Stearns, Dave Wilgosh, Xavier Andrews, Pascale Racette, Josh Kirkland, Brad Winters, Jamie Young, Chris Ferguson.

Sportsman Rookies

Dave McDonald, Eric MAcPherson, Dale Gifford, Alex Gagnon, Geneva Sheffield, Joey Paquette (DNS).

Outlaw Vintage

Brian Comeau, Pete Stapper, Jake Mcnamee, Gavin Riddell, Wayne Riddell, Clay McNamee, Corey Winters, Nathan Berry, Ryan Comeau, John McNamee, Luke McKinnon, Harm Vanderweide, Dalton Stacey (DNS), Wayne Mackey (DNS).

Street Stock

Todd Raabe, Sheldon Hoogwerf, Tyler Bushey, John Calgey, Michael Dillon, Steve Brady, Kyle Massey, Adam Switzer, Taylor Andrews, Nick Gauvreau, Steve Toomey, Dan Summers, Keith Riddell, Perry Como (DNS), Earl Simpson (DNS).


Dylan Kirkland, Chris Bakker, Dustin Bode, Kurtis Daye, Brady Greer, Steve Insley, Brandon Henderson, Jared Galway, Melissa Gifford, Samantha Henderson, Scott Hurford, Richard Bartholemew, Tristan Hurford, Mark Packer, Jeff Bode, Tyler Hazelaar, John Lamarche, Colin Tracey, Domenic Merkley (DNS).