By: Tim Baltz

The racing action is really heating up at The Brockville Ontario Speedway Bullring as points are becoming very important with just 4 big weeks left. With many drivers still looking for their first win of the 2016 season everyone was up on the wheel and going for it.

In Box Stock First Year Aiden Berry was one of those drivers who was in search of not only his first win of the year but his first ever win as well. Berry took over the lead on lap 2 of the 10 lap event, then held off several challenges from Ella Shipclark to finally score his first ever victory. Shipclark came home a career best 2nd with Lucas Comeau crossing in 3rd.

The Second Year Box Stock class saw a familiar face in the winner’s circle as Barron Greer took the lead from early pace setter Blake Smith. Greer would then have to deal with 4 time feature winner Grayson Reddick in the closing laps but was solid and held on for his 4th win of the year. Reddick settled for 2nd while Blake Smith ran strong all night to finish up 3rd.

In Rookie 1 Kalen Draper has been the talk of the town as he quickly jumped out into the lead early on. With several cautions plaguing the final laps of the 15 lap event, Draper never faltered and would storm to his 2nd win in a row over early leader Kyle Stewart while Landen Slinger overcame some early race struggles to go from 6th to 3rd on the final lap.

The biggest field every week assembled for the start of the 15 lap Jr. Sportsman 2 feature and Trent Wallace looked in great shape as he drove away from a quality field early on with Noah Massey and Tyler Stewart chasing him. With plenty of cautions during the 15 lap affair Wallace remained strong and was never challenged all the way as he became the 3rd 2 time winner of 2016 in the division. Tyler Stewart made a great move to finish up 2nd while Branden Hudson battled through some early struggles to finish up 3rd at the finish.

The Stock Light division still has everyone talking as their 15 lap feature was one of, if not the best race all year long. Eric Castonguay was in search of his division leading 7th win of the year but Dylan Tinkler was about to make it tough on him as he took over the lead early on. Over the next 12 laps these 2 drivers pulled away trading the lead a total of 7 times over that span until a late yellow closed the field up with 3 to go. On the restart Tinkler took over but yet again Castonguay would get it back, lap after lap, it seemed neither driver would get the advantage. On the final lap it was a side by side battle for the win Tinkler held the advantage on the low lane and would drive hard off turn 4 to claim his 2nd win of the year by less than a kart length. Castonguay continued his incredible run of podium finishes crossing in 2nd with Evan Reynolds coming home a close 3rd.

Stock Heavy was a little more tame in the action department as Brian Clark was looking to make short work of the field as he took the lead from the pole over Ryan Roth and Jason Reynolds. Clark came into the night as the points leader and was determined to leave with a bigger point lead. Despite a late caution and a fast closing Raymond David, it wasn’t meant to be as Brian Clark would charge to his 4th win of the year and first win in over a month at Brockville. Raymond David would settle for 2nd while veteran Jason Reynolds would finish up 3rd.

The Lawn Tractors would make their 3rd appearance of the season at The Bullring and Matt Turner was on a mission to try and score his first win of the year. Turner held a comfortable advantage but Mathieu Aubin who won back on June 29th was closing fast. With 5 laps to go Turner made a costly error as he spun in turn 4 handing the lead over to Aubin. When the green flew Aubin was in complete control and would charge to his 2nd win of the season over Wesley Pelkie and Simon Courtaway.

Next week all 7 classes will be back in action with racing beginning at 7pm. We will see you at The Bullring.

Box Stock (First Year)

AIDEN BERRY, Ella Shipclark, Lucas Comeau, Lachlan Anderson, Keegan Elliott

Box Stock (Second Year)

BARRON GREER, Grayson Reddick, Blake Smith, Dylan Moore, Jake Horner, Hunter Ford

Rookie 1

KALEN DRAPER, Kyle Stewart, Landen Slinger, Devyn Como, Max Petro, Brayden Comeau, Jonathan Anderson

Jr. Sportsman 2

TRENT WALLACE, Tyler Stewart, Branden Hudson, Jacob Herbison, Noah Massey, Michael McKay, Jayden Comeau, Nicholas Cordingly, Braxton D’Alessio, Brennan Moore, Mason Barkley

Jr. Restricted

ZACK RENAUD, Tyler Morin, Christopher Pryor, Xavier Perrin, Braxton D’Alessio

Stock Light

DYLAN TINKLER, Eric Castonguay, Evan Reynolds, Brody Cordingly, (DNS) Joey Massey

Stock Heavy

BRIAN CLARK, Raymond David, Jason Reynolds, Mark Greer, Dave Topping, Randy Revelle, Ryan Roth, Shawn Bolton

Lawn Tractor

MATHIEU AUBIN, Wesley Pelkie, Simon Courtaway, Matt Turner

The Brockville Ontario Speedway would like to thank our karting sponsors for the 2016 racing season: All Out Performance, Power Sports Garage, Blasko Mechanical, Billings Automotive, Dan Smith Flooring, Solid Rock Masonry