By: Tim Baltz

It all started back on July 3rd of 1993, when Roger Horvath collected the first ever ESS checkered flag at The BOS.

Since that day 24 events have been contested with all time series win leader Steve Poirier leading all drivers with 4 wins. Drivers like Mike Woodring, RC Faigle, Chuck Hebing, 1996 Brockville Modified champion Rick Wilson and a host of others have graced victory lane and after the 2019 season, many more had a goal to do the exact same thing.

In 2020, COVID-19 stopped anyone from not just visiting victory lane, but visiting Canada all together. With borders closed and restrictions in place the stars of the Empire Super Sprints were without a place to race in Canada.

June 24th 2023, that all changes as the make their return to the speedway for the 25th time.

The 40th season of the Empire Super Sprints has seen 6 winners in the first 6 events with defending series champion Jordan Poirier winning the most recent event at the Orange County Fair Speedway. Poirier has had success at the last open 360 Sprint car race at Brockville as he took the checkered flag on July 16th. He’ll look to continue to carry on the Poirier winning tradition in the series return

Poirier, along with drivers like Jeff Cook, Paulie Colagiovanni, Jason Barney and Shawn Donath will all be here looking to roll their cars down George Tackaberry Boulevard, at the end of the night and win the return of the Empire Super Sprints at Brockville.

The DIRTCar 358 Modified and DIRTCar Sportsman will be on the card of events for the night, plus the Novice Sportsman and Mini Stocks, all brought to you by RYCON Electrical. Racing gets underway at 7pm. Get your tickets while you can as they will sell out fast!!!

For more information what’s happening at the speedway visit our website at For instant updates give the speedway a follow on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.