By: Tim Baltz

A fast race track greeted drivers this past Saturday night at the Brockville Ontario Speedway. Track championships were on the line but for those who were not in contention to win a title, a feature win was up for grabs.

Before the feature events, a special 8 lap Dutchmen’s Dash for Cash for the DIRTcar 358 Modified and DIRTcar Sportsman took to the speedway. The races featured all winners in the 2022 season at Brockville. Kalen Draper took the lead early and never looked back to secure the DIRTcar 358 Modified win. Bobby Herrington took the lead late in the going and claimed the DIRTcar Sportsman win. A special thanks to head starters Nate and Gary Vandermeer for their support and for putting in the time and effort in organizing those special events.

Mario Dupuis led the way early on in the 12 lap Novice Sportsman feature with Matt Pruner and Holly Denard chasing him. Dupuis had a fast race car was in search of his second win of the season. Keira Turner brought out a late race caution as she lost a left front tire in turn 3. On the final restart Dupuis would pull away and go unchallenged to claim his second win of the year. Matt Pruner, Holly Denard, Gavin MacFarlane and Paul Donnelly completed the top 5. Veteran Shawn Hodge claimed the season long championship.

Domonick Merkley led early in the 25 lap DIRTcar Sportsman event. But a tangle involving Merkley, Trent Wallace, Brennan Moore and Evan Reynolds would slow the field before the end of lap 1. Once the race got going it was Dan Ferguson leading the way over Josh Powers and Shane Stearns. Powers wasted no time grabbing the lead a couple of laps later and began to pull away, but a familiar face would provide a challenge to former Vintage modified driver. 2021 and newly crowned 2022 champion Bobby Herrington would move to second and quickly close in on the leader. Powers would keep the lead as both cars were evenly matched. Behind the top 2 Jessica Power would move to the number 3 spot with Dylan Kirkland and Xavier Andrews completing the top 5. Herrington tried everything he had to get by Powers through the remainder of the event, but the rookie was up to the task and would hold on to become the third multi-time winner, claiming his 2nd career DIRTcar Sportsman win. Herrington claimed another runner up finish with Jessica Power, Dylan Kirkland and Xavier Andrews in the top 5. Herrington became the 4th driver in track history to win back to back DIRTcar Sportsman titles.

Veterans Chris Herbison and Jeff Sykes led early in the 30 lap DIRTcar 358 Modified feature. The top two pulled away from the rest of the field while young guns, Tristan Draper Johnathon Ferguson and Jarrett Herbison filled out the top 5 spots. Draper continued his charge towards the front of the field as he moved past Sykes to take over the number two spot on lap 16, as he closed in on the leader. Title contenders Chris Raabe and Ryan Arbuthnot were in traffic throughout the 30 lap contest and tried their best to make it to the front of the field. Late in the event Johnathon Ferguson spun in turn 1 clipping the back bumper of Raabe and the caution flew. Both cars continued on but had to restart from the back of the field. On the restart Draper continued to show the way but Kyle Dingwall was right there to challenge with Jeff Sykes retaking the number three spot and the battle was on. Over the final laps, Tristan Draper would pull away and would survive one late race restart, to go to victory lane for a third time in 2022. Dingwall crossed in 2nd with Jeff Sykes, Ryan Arbuthnot and Jarrett Herbison. Chris Raabe would claim his first DIRTcar 358 Modified championship, joining Paul Moreland and Kyle Dingwall, as the only drivers to have track championships in both Sportsman and Modified divisions at the speedway.

Francis Gauthier led early on over Peter and Todd Raabe in the 15 lap Street Stock feature. Gauthier was looking for some redemption after nearly winning his first feature, only to lose the lead on the final lap. On this night, Todd Raabe would move to the top spot around Gauthier on lap 10 bringing his brother Peter to the number two spot. Over the final laps Todd Raabe would continue the family’s great night, as he scored his 4th win of 2022. Brett Horner would be crowned the 2022 Street Stock champion.

In the 15 lap Supernant Truck Shop Mini Stock division, Hayden Brown was looking to forget about a tough 2nd half of the season, as he led early over Pierre Picard, Max Steele, Matt Boal and Jamie Larocque. As the laps clicked off Hayden Brown continued to pull away while the battle for the track championship was close in position on the race track between defending champion Jarrod Galway and Jamie Larocque. Both drivers were in and out of the top 5 all night long but were not factors in the battle for the win. Hayden Brown would finally get a top five finish to close out the year, it would be a win, his second of the season and first top 5 finish since he won his first race on June 18th of this season. Pierre Picard held on for 2nd over Max Steele, Matt Boal and 2022 track champion Jamie Larocque.

Next week its an action packed two days of racing with Trailer Pro Canada race Weekend coming up. For information check out our website and give us a follow on all of the speedway’s social media pages, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

DIRTcar 358 Modified (30 laps)

TRISTAN DRAPER, Kyle Dingwall, Jeff Sykes, Ryan Arbuthnot, Jarrett Herbison, Chris Herbison, Johnathon Ferguson, Lee Ladouceur, Kalen Draper, Steve Bilow, Chris Raabe, Joe Banks

Dutchman’s Dash: Kalen Draper 

Heat Winners: Jeff Sykes and Lee Ladouceur 

2022 Track Champion: Chris Raabe

DIRTcar Sportsman (25 laps)

JOSH POWERS, Bobby Herrington, Jessica Power, Dylan Kirkland, Xavier Andrews, Ricky Thompson, Dan Ferguson, Michael Dillon, Trent Wallace, Sandy MacFarlane, Brennan Moore, Shane Stearns, Chris Ferguson, Domonick Merkley, Greg Brinklow, Evan Reynolds

Dutchman’s Dash: Bobby Herrington 

Heat Winners: Josh Powers and Trent Wallace 

2022 Track Champion: Bobby Herrington 

Novice Sportsman (12 laps)

MARIO DUPUIS, Matt Pruner, Holly Denard, Gavin MacFarlane, Paul Donnelly, Keira Turner, Shawn Hodge, Jordan Wood, Cory Lambert, (DNS) Jeremie Goyette

Heat Winners: Holly Denard and Mario Dupuis 

2022 Track Champion: Shawn Hodge

Street Stock (15 laps)

TODD RAABE, Peter Raabe, Francis Gauthier, Brett Horner, Gaetan Hebert

Heat Winner: Peter Raabe 

2022 Track Champion: Brett Horner

Mini Stock (15 laps)

HAYDEN BROWN, Pierre Picard, Max Steele, Matt Boal, Jamie Larocque, Jarrod Galway, Curtis Lindsay, John Lamarche, Richard Bartholomew, Brandon MacMillan, Mark Packer, Marc Supernant, Dakota Boal, Shawn Reid

Heat Winners: Hayden Brown and Max Steele 

2022 Track Champion: Jamie Larocque