After a week delay for weather, the opening night of the 2023 Karting season at Brockville Ontario Speedway was finally underway…

In Box Stock 1 action, Johnny Crawford and Jackson Hewitt took off and were out to settle this feature among themselves. The two would run nose to tail, slowed only by a caution on lap six.  When racing action resumed Crawford again led Hewitt. On lap nine that would change as Hewitt would take over the top spot. As the race came to finish, Crawford would try to use lapped traffic and go three wide for the win entering turn three, He would get out of shape and that would be enough for Hewitt to take the checkers! Crawford would recover to come home second with Robert Rory coming home third.

In Box Stock 2, Lily Walters would take the lead, but the yellow would fly immediately as a couple of karts came together at the start/finish line. On the next start, Liam O’Connor would grab the number one position and be pursued doggedly by Walters. The two would break away, seemingly to decide the win between the two of them. By the halfway point, third place Henry Wood had chased down the lead duo and make another three wide bid for the lead! Running, the outside, Walters would spin and have to restart from the back of the field. O’Connor and Wood had a great race for first, when racing resumed. On lap 13, Wood, once more challenged for the top spot, again going three wide. This time trying to take advantage as the leaders approached lapped traffic. The move would prove costly, as Wood spun, drawing the caution. On the restart, O’Connor would pace the field and go on for the win in front of Ace Decristoforo, with Lily Walters fighting back to finish third.

Box Stock Clone would see Liam O’Connor pick up, right where he left off. The fast 33L would jump out to an early lead, that was unsurmountable, resulting in his second win of the evening ahead of Lily Walters and Russell Trickey.

The Jr. Clone 3 feature was another good one. Avery Raabe and Elliott Stacey paced the field and put on a great show for everyone watching. the two would distance themselves from the rest of the field and continue a terrific battle. They would soon encounter lapped traffic and again, another three wide battle for the lead would see a driver miss their shot. Stacey looked to just about draw the yellow as a result, but continued on, keeping the race green and somehow, holding on to second place! With only two laps remaining, the gap was too much to overcome and Raabe would continue on to the win, with Stacey and Landon Ryan rounding out the podium.

Next up was Jr. Sportsman. On the green, Jax Decristoforo would take the initial lead. However, as lap one was to be completed, Liam Pakenham would move into the first position. From there, Pakenham would set a torrid pace and drive away from the field resulting in checkers, with Decristoforo coming home the runner-up and Reed David crossing the stripe third.

Rounding out the evening’s action was the Pro Clone division. Ayden Vandelight would lead early with Maddie Wallace close behind. A quick yellow on lap two, and Vandelight and Wallace were away again. Having built a half a straightaway lead over Randy Revelle, the pair seemed to be set to settle the top spot among themselves. Revelle had other ideas and a late-race charge saw him make it a three kart fight for the lead. Revelle would move in to second and try a last lap effort, but Vandelight  would hang on to take the win besting Revell and Wallace.

Jackson Hewitt
Johnny Crawford
Robert Rory
Jackson Lennon
Keaton Gifford
Aubrey Lloyd
Avery Breen

Liam O’Connor
Ace Decristoforo
Lily Walters
Henry Wood
Calvin Cevolsky
Russell Trickey
Cooper Billing (DNS)

Liam O’Connor
Lily Walters
Russell Trickey
Jackson Hewitt
Chloe Breen
Carter Swank (DNS)
Cooper Billings (DNS)

Avery Raabe
Elliott Stacey
Landon Ryan
Alley Wilkinson

Liam Pakenham
Jax Decristoforo
Reed David
Brock Beattie
Russell Arlington

Ayden Vandelignt
Randy Revelle
Madie Wallace
Randy Vandelight
Mark Christie
Patrick Kudrinko